2019 Celebrate Research

Explore the work of UBC Okanagan's 2019 Researchers of the Year.

Each year, we recognize the outstanding achievements of researchers who have made significant contributions to research and/or creative scholarly activity at UBC Okanagan. Three prizes are awarded in the areas of Natural Sciences and Engineering, Social Sciences and Humanities, and Health. This year’s recipients epitomize excellence and are leaders in their respective fields and disciplines, working across traditional boundaries to help make the world a better place.

Faculty Researchers of the Year

Rachelle Hole, Associate Professor, Social Work

Kasun Hewage, Professor, Engineering

Jon Corbett, Associate Professor, Geography

Student Researchers of the Year

Katrina Plamondon, PhD Student, Nursing

 Emily Giroux, MSc Student, Health and Exercise Sciences